My First Solo!

I once asked a Captain before what is his most memorable moment throughout his flying career. His answer to me was simple. He said to me – “You will remember forever the day you do your first solo! When you are in control of the aircraft all by yourself!”

That time I am just concerned about getting myself into a flying school, so the thought of doing my first solo seems so far away. Now after 4 months here, I finally get the chance to do my first solo.

1ST DECEMBER 2008 :

I started my day today with my heart pounding and my feet trembling! I am extremely excited and at the same time worried because before I am authorized for my solo flight, I have to go for a solo check flight with a Captain, to make sure that I have sound knowledge of the aircraft and procedures(especially the Emergency Procedures).

I was scheduled to fly at 0900 hours but I came very early. Reached the hangar at 0645 and went straight to see the Captain I am flying with today. Talked to him, filled up my authorization sheet for my solo check and showed him all the necessary paperwork. He signed the authorization sheet and off I go to do my pre-flight checks.

On my way to the aircraft, the first thing I look at was the windsock. I was hoping to get a nil wind condition or maybe just slightly windy – wishful thinking. The windsock was fully erected and the best of all, a crosswind condition! What a ‘great’ day!

I have flown in crosswind conditions a few times before. Not very nice to fly in because it is very bumpy and we have to correct for wind-drift. Especially on landing! A very tricky condition indeed!

Anyway, I think I will skip the details of the solo check. The main requirement of a solo check is to complete a series of emergency procedures, radio telephony procedures, aircraft procedures/checklists and also aircraft handling. Additionally, one has to complete 3 landings unassisted during the check.

I completed my solo check in about 32 minutes and upon taxiing back to the ramp, the Captain said to me – “You go do one circuit and come back.”

“I am cleared for my solo? What?! Oh, really? Yay!” ^^, I am still quite blur thats why my response.

The first solo is a very simple flight. We only need to take-off, remain in the traffic pattern and then come back for a full stop landing. A very short 15-minute flight!

At the ramp, the Captain stepped out of the plane and said “She’s all yours”.

You cannot imagine how happy I am at that moment! Finally I will be flying alone! All that responsibility! >.<

After the Captain is clear of the aircraft, I started doing my checks and go on the radio to request clearance for my flight. As this is my first solo, my callsign has a suffix – Sierra. The moment you attach this suffix to your callsign, the air traffic controller will automatically speak slower and also give you simpler instructions.

After I got my clearance, I taxied to the holding point, did my power checks and then I call the tower to let them know I am ready for departure. I was asked to line up Runway 03 and cleared for take-off!

Put on full power and I was charging down the runway like a little buffalo. Checked my engine parameters, instruments and advisory panel – all looked good! Reached 65 knots, I pull up on the stick and off I go! Airborne!! The very first thing I noticed is how light the aircraft felt without an instructor sitting next to you!

Everything from here on is magic!

I did my circuit and came back to land. My landing was not perfect. Not exactly those of the smooth touchdown. Slightly bumpy. It wasn’t perfect but I am extremely happy!

11 Responses to “My First Solo!”


  1. 1 maha911 December 4, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Congratulation to you~ reminds me of my first solo too… mine was 1 year after i joined the sch. :/

    Happy flying

  2. 2 Yen Mei December 4, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Hey, great to heard you are happy! *_*

  3. 3 herwuen December 5, 2008 at 9:43 am

    *DROOLING* HAHAHA! i’m just so proud of you x)

  4. 4 nicki December 5, 2008 at 11:03 am

    baka you got my email or not wan? i sent to gmail d this time!

  5. 5 クリンソン ドリーム December 5, 2008 at 11:56 am

    maha911 : Thanks ^^, Happy Flying to you too!

    Yen Mei : ^^,

    herwuen : Keke, you can do it also ma! That day heard a female pilot over the radio on an AirAsia flight! ^^,

    nicki : What email?

  6. 6 nicki December 6, 2008 at 12:09 am

    bo sim la luu… huhuhu… T.T

  7. 7 aries_gal December 6, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    hey….wow..sounds so fun leh…great lo…how i wish i can do that..hahah..but then its impossible eh..haha….

    v(^_^)v

  8. 8 yeongchinn December 8, 2008 at 5:38 am

    i guess i am a little late to comment on this. Anyway, congrats son! so very proud of u !

  9. 9 クリンソン ドリーム December 9, 2008 at 9:14 am

    nicki : Not bo sim ok! I kept it. I just need some time before I integrate it here. Keke. Cause everytime I come online, I am super busy! LOL >.<

    aries : Nothing is impossible! ^^,

    yeongchinn : Thanks o mama. LOL

  10. 10 nicki December 12, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    bo sim kong bo sim la…
    haihzz…
    see i still have to keep commenting here…
    so sien…
    tsk…

  11. 11 クリンソン ドリーム December 16, 2008 at 9:38 am

    >.<


Leave a Reply

       

Twitts

Foot Print Finder

  • 186,729 pairs of foot print(s) found

Your Thoughts – コメント

クリンソン ドリーム on Amazon Package
mavis on Amazon Package
Rachelle on Tanpatsu & Renzoku ??
http://dream-analysi… on Tenso.com – My Japanese…
... on Rules of 4chan

What You Have Missed


