Job Stress

I am currently studying this subject called Human Performances & Limitations and came across a rather interesting fact. I do know that pilots have one of the highest divorce rate but did not know that pilots are also ranked quite high in the charts in terms of job stress.

According to my notes, a survey in Britain carried out in 1986, pilots were ranked third in terms of stressful jobs and are sharing the same spot with journalists! The surprise here is, Actors and Doctors are both ranked 5th and 6th respectively. That I really did not expect. I thought a doctor’s job is pretty stressful and should be higher up the chart.

As usual, this intrigued me and I would like to see where pilots ranked today. So Google is again my best friend! ^^,

And here is the result – A survey by CareerCast surveying some 200 jobs carried out in February 2009 if I am not wrong.

The following eight jobs are considered the most stressful according to the CareerCast survey.

  1. Surgeon
  2. Commercial airline pilot
  3. Photojournalist
  4. Advertising account executive
  5. Real estate agent
  6. General practice physician
  7. Newspaper reporter
  8. Physician assistant

Visit CareerCast.com to view a list of all 200 jobs.

Viola! Commercial Airline Pilots – number two! Much of the job have dropped out from the chart, like in 1986, miners were ranked number one instead of surgeons. The only 2 familiar jobs that I see still on the charts from 1986 are pilots and journalist.

Why would pilots ranked so high? Well, this survey is carried out based on a few stress factors which is :

Stress Factors Used in the Most Stressful Jobs Survey=

For the survey, 21 job demands that cause a stress response were assigned a range of points. The higher the demand levels of a particular stress factor, the more points that job received. The following are the stress demands used in the survey.

  • Life at risk
  • Life of another at risk
  • Stamina required
  • Precision required
  • Quotas
  • Deadlines
  • Competitiveness
  • A win/lose situation
  • Advocacy
  • Working in the public eye
  • The use of tools or machines
  • Environmental conditions
  • Required lifting
  • Physical demands such as climbing or bending
  • Initiative required
  • Working outdoors
  • Meeting the public
  • Detail
  • Confinement
  • Hazards encountered
  • Speed required

And as you can judge for yourself, almost all of the stress factors applies to a pilot. >.<

So again a question popped up in my head.

Is your current job/school/university/college/training stressful for you?

Of course there is always a solution to every problem.

 

4 Responses to “Job Stress”


  1. 1 yeongchinn May 30, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Hey son! I have missed keeping track on your blog long long time ago! wee… this is an interesting post! me like it! hahah . hope u are good and well! missing u !

  2. 2 クリンソン ドリーム May 31, 2009 at 11:27 am

    ^^, super mama. Thanks o. ^^, I am fine over here. Doing well.

    You will be back in Penang soon right? Too bad I wont be there. I wont have leave until next year T.T Won’t be able to see you soon I guess…

    And how have you been? Should be doing great la. Traveling all over the world. You are going even faster than me. ^^,

  3. 3 yeongchinn June 1, 2009 at 8:30 am

    yea. but will not stay long in Penang also ler. hehe! I will be travelling around. wheee.. I guess I love travelling! eheh.

    Dont worry u will fly more places than me SOON.

    gosh! I miss u suddenly laaa….

    • 4 クリンソン ドリーム June 1, 2009 at 2:28 pm

      ^^, How long will you be in Penang? Traveling to where?

      ^^, I most probably will be back in January next year. When will you come back again? Need to catch up with you. >.<


Leave a Reply

       

Twitts

Foot Print Finder

  • 186,120 pairs of foot print(s) found

Your Thoughts – コメント

クリンソン ドリーム on Amazon Package
mavis on Amazon Package
Rachelle on Tanpatsu & Renzoku ??
http://dream-analysi… on Tenso.com – My Japanese…
... on Rules of 4chan

What You Have Missed


